py2exe error

Having installation problems look here for help

py2exe error

Postby dominic999 » Mon May 04, 2009 2:51 pm

Hi there,

I'm really thrilled about Editra and would like to have an executable version of it. I tried to do it with
Code: Select all
python setup.py py2exe

but to no avail. At first, I got an error related to the file ._issuelist.py which was not a text file as expected. I replaced it with the issuelist.py file, hoping it would do the trick. But I had another error:
import_hook
parent = self.dermine_parent(caller, level=level)
File=...py2exe\mf.py line 172 in determine_parent
    parent = self.modules[pname]
KeyError: 'syntax.'

I'm not a programmer although I use python a lot, so that's as far as I can go for now.

Thanks in advance!
Dominic
dominic999
User

Re: py2exe error

Postby cody » Mon May 04, 2009 3:15 pm

Hello,

1) There are exe's already available for download on the downloads page (http://editra.org/download).

2) Where/how did you get the source code? SVN, downloaded tarball, python egg?

3) What was the full path of the ._issuelist.py file you had an error with at first? That file does not exist (and it shouldn't), there is an issuelist.py file in Editra\src\syntax that is a regular python module. It almost seems like it was trying to access the files in the .svn directory but I am only guessing because I don't know answer to #2 ;)

4) What version of Python/wxPython/py2exe are you using?

Cody
cody
Site Admin

Postby dominic999 » Mon May 04, 2009 3:33 pm

Hi cody, thanks for the (quick!) response.

1) I followed recommendation on http://editra.org/setup_python_ide
If your a Python developer, I highly suggest installing Editra from source using the supplied setup.py script as opposed to installing the binary distributions.

Unless I'm mistaken, I think installing from binaries would not allow me to get as much from Editra when it comes to the third-party modules (autocomplete features and so on).